Been awhile

I haven’t written anything on this blog for a while. Plenty of interesting things happen, but I’ve felt “blah” lately.  I think I’d rather have something to brag about than complain about.  I don’t want to give a negative vibe.  I certainly don’t want people to associate negativity with health and fitness.  Parenting, maybe…but not being our best selves.

I’ve been running three or more miles 5 days a week.  I enjoy competing against myself to go faster and further than my personal records.  I signed up to run a 5k next weekend with my friend, Liz.  That keeps me motivated.  I realize that I want to do well and that I need practice.  Also, Liz knows where I live and she’d probably pull the valve stems out of my tires if I don’t visit her that weekend.  When you live 200 miles apart, you can’t stand each other up without trouble.  Back to running: I’m pretty steady with my pace, but I’m trying to improve.  Tomorrow, I’m going to run in the morning because I mostly run in the evening.  I feel like my running in the evening puts pressure on my husband.  While I’m gone, he bathes the younger kids and puts them to bed.  I know they enjoy it, but I don’t want to overwhelm him.  It also sometimes means that the kids take too long and he doesn’t have time to go for his run.  I’m glad I have someone like him to have a hand in my success.  He’s a real prize when he wants.

Do you have a specific goal in mind?  Are the people around you supporting you or sabotaging you?  Do you have a time of day you prefer to work out?

 

Leave a Reply

