Hit the ground running

After a 6 week absence, I started running again this week. Monday, I signed up for a fun run with a local running store. It was tough to push through the first mile, but I made it 2.75 of the 3 miles I’d planned.  I’m not sure I could have made it the full 3, but I didn’t give up with a quarter of a mile left. I didn’t check the course map closely enough when I left the starting point and I got turned around on the dimly lit roads. I wound up finding other runners from the same group and following them back to the starting point. They were fairly fast, so I really had to push myself to keep up with them the last bit of the course.

I am shy, and being around people makes me really nervous. Even with people I’ve known for a long time, I get anxious. I almost didn’t leave the house after signing up to go for the run. My husband encouraged me to get out there and do it. I’m glad he did. I talked a little with people and I found out about another social run this Friday where we have cocktails afterward. I know I’ve craved a nice draft beer lately, so I’m actually really excited to join them for a Ladies’ Night run. I also think I’m going to try to make the Monday night social runs a regular thing. I even studied the course so I shouldn’t get lost this time around.

Getting back to running is so hard! I don’t remember the last time I ran outside when it was chilly. The first two times I ran this week, I over dressed. I wore tight-fitting long sleeves and pants with compression socks. I got uncomfortable during both runs. Last night, I wore Capri pants with the knee-high compression socks, a moisture wicking t-shirt, and a light jacket. After the first mile, I tied the jacket around my waist. I think it was more comfortable than the two earlier times. The temperature was near 60 degrees for all three runs. Today is a cross training day, so I’m planning to do a 30 minute workout before I put my little ones down for their naps. My 4-year-old son enjoys doing the moves with me and its been a little too yucky outside to play, so this should burn some energy.

I am glad that I’m back to running and working out. I find myself craving sugar less often and I’m listening to my body about when to eat and when to stop. The only problem I’ve had this week is with sleep. I have a feeling that will be something to deal with for a while until my 2-year-old learns to go to bed and stay there all night. I’m thankful that I can still have energy for fitness. Also, I’m glad that this fall from the wagon only lasted 6 weeks and not longer. My endurance suffered from my laziness, but it could have been worse. I’ve changed the lock screen on my phone to say “Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion” Muhammad Ali. I like to think of myself as a future champion.

Do you have something that inspires you to keep going?

Tip: I write my workout plan for the following day on my bathroom mirror in dry erase marker each night before bed. When I wake up and look at myself in the mirror, I know what I’m expected to do. Erasing it once I’m done feels good, too.

Leave a Reply

