Committed

Committed

So I am locked in for summer/fall training. Also, I should be committed for signing myself up to do it. I mean, I have got to be fully insane if the last couple of times I raced, I was asking myself why I do it, then wanting to do it again after finishing. I think my body is on to me about torturing it so it appreciates rest more.

I’m signed up for the Indy Monumental marathon in November. I’m hoping my husband comes with me to cheer me on and to make sure I actually leave the hotel room in the morning. The training I’m taking through my local Fleet Feet will go on for 16 weeks before the race. I’m also mentoring a half marathon group for a goal race the last weekend in September. I have committed 4 days a week to running for a few months. I will see someone through a half marathon, and then run a half marathon 8 days later in Missouri. Everyone I tell about my October half refers to it as a good “tune up” for my full marathon. I refer to it as “these races I kept signing up for and may actually be insane for.”

I am excited about all of my races. I’m excited to do the races and I’m proud to keep up my training. I mean, this is why I stayed running all winter long for the first time since I took on running as a habit. I’d call it a hobby, but I just don’t think it fits. It is a challenge and something that hones more than just the skill of running.

I think I’m looking for a lot of reassurance lately for my decision to run a full. I have been considering it for a long time. Despite not having a real bucket list, this is something I want to say I have done. I want to have fun stories if I make it to old age. I also really like my running buddies and spending time with them helps me feel good. Having goals also helps me feel a little less hopeless when I’m battling depression.

I plan to bore you with my training stories and race stories for the next few months. My group of 5k training people are getting really close to the goal race.

Do you ever waffle about a decision even after you’ve made it? Do you have big plans far ahead of time? What race are you most looking forward to?

2 thoughts on “Committed

  1. I was in your shoes not long ago! It turned out that running the full just was not in the cards for me at this time, but that doesn’t mean I’ve ruled it out forever. You can so do this!

Leave a Reply

